The Five Freedoms of Animal Welfare

The Five Freedoms are internationally accepted standards of care that affirm every living being’s right to humane treatment.
These standards originated with the Report of the UK Technical Committee to Enquire into the Welfare of Animals kept under Intensive Livestock Husbandry Systems, the Brambell Report, in December 1965. The concept was subsequently refined by the Farm Animal Welfare Council so that it actually took the form of the five freedoms.

They ensure that we meet the mental and physical needs of animals in our care:

1. Freedom from hunger or thirst by ready access to fresh water and a diet to maintain full health and vigour.

2. Freedom from discomfort by providing an appropriate environment including shelter and a comfortable resting area.

3. Freedom from pain, injury or disease by prevention or rapid diagnosis and treatment.

4. Freedom to express (most) normal behaviour by providing sufficient space, proper facilities and company of the animal’s own kind.

5. Freedom from fear and distress by ensuring conditions and treatment which avoid mental suffering.

We encourage people to embrace the Five Freedoms supporting the health and welfare of the animals in our care,


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s